Calculation Orbit for C/2011 L4 (III)

As MPEC 2011-N34 released the latest astrometric observations of comet C/2011 L4, I again calculated an orbital solution for this promising vagabond in our solar system:

My solution is too quite close to which was published in MPEC 2011-N34. To obtain my solution I set perturbers including Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune, i.e. the four planets with the greatest masses in our solar system. We can see that there’s no great shift from what I acquired based upon previous astrometric observations, which suggests that the original prediction won’t change too much, which favors observers in southern hemisphere more. For me any comets brighter than mag. 13 should be called bright comets within my capability of observing it. Therefore it’s likely that I’ll be able to pick it up as early as Aug in 2011, if it behaves normally in accord with the lightcurve prediction.

Calculation Orbit for C/2011 L4 (III)

Leave a Reply

